2020 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

In the final month of 2020 we recognised the achievements of several clubs/players within our Association throughout the season.

Pathways Award – Turramurra United

Selected by the NSFA Football Development department, the Pathways Award is presented to the club that best satisfies the following criteria:

  • Commitment to providing player and coach development opportunities
  • Supporting Development leagues
  • Alignment with NSFA Football Plan
  • Consistent football philosophy and alignment with NSFA / Northern Tigers

Pictured: NSFA Technical Director Jason Eagar and Turramurra United President Kylie Chambers.

Retention Award – Hornsby Heights FC

The retention award recognises the NSFA club that achieved the highest retention of their player base from 2019 to 2020.

Congratulations to Hornsby Heights Football Club, who topped the association with a retention rate of 75 percent!

As part of the NSFA Strategic Plan, we have a target player retention rate for our association of 75% by 2023.

Pictured: NSFA Board Member Jacinta Martin and Hornsby Heights President Cathy Ruggero.

Media Award – Kissing Point FC

The award recognises the NSFA club that has most consistently provided engaging and informative content across their communications channels throughout the year.

Pictured: NSFA Marketing and Communications Manager Nick Amies and Kissing Point President Andrew Frost.

Female Football Award – Lindfield FC

The award is presented to the NSFA club that has best embodied the NSFA’s #WhatsBestForHer strategy in showing commitment to developing female football within their club.

Pictured: Lindfield WPL player Amanda Skellern, NSFA Head of Female Football Eilidh Mackay and Lindfield FC Vice President Paul Grundy.

Fair Play Award – St Ives FC

The award is presented to the club with the lowest average of yellow/red cards per team across all the competition age groups.

Pictured: St Ives FC President Lyle Hudson and NSFA PD&DC Chair Alan Clarke.

President’s Award – Mark Floresta

Mark has been a large part of the Prouille community for a number of years and currently serves as the club’s Treasurer.

Each year NSFA clubs can nominate a member for a President’s Award in recognition for their extensive service to their club and the football community. Congratulations Mark!

Pictured: NSFA Board President Ian Plant, Prouille FC’s Mark Floresta and Floresta children.

WPL Golden Boot – Ella Boudakian

Northbridge FC’s Ella Boudakian secured the Women’s Premier League Golden Boot with 17 goals.

The top three was rounded out by Lindfield FC A duo Imogen Bedwell and Jemima Davison, who both scored 11 goals.

Pictured: NSFA Head of Female Football Eilidh Mackay and Ella Boudakian.

MPL Golden Boot – Seb Bendall

Seb Bendall on secured the Men’s Premier League Golden Boot with 17 goals.

Coming down to the final round of the season, Bendall finished a single goal ahead of Berowra Football Club’s Brad Fiedler and Willoughby Dalleys FC’s Sam Young.

MPL Most Valuable Player – Brad Fiedler

Fiedler finished the season with 40 votes, followed by Sam Young (Willoughby Dalleys FC, 26 votes) and James Holland (Lindfield FC, 23 votes).

Pictured: NSFA CEO Edward Ferguson and Brad Fiedler.

WPL Most Valuable Player – Lorin Lambert

Lambert finished the season with 15 votes, ahead of Northbridge FC duo Ella Boudakian (13) and Linda Carroll (12).

MPL/MAA2 Awards

This year marked the introduction of the Division Championship in Men’s Premier League and All-Age 2.

Division Championships are calculated by tripling points accumulated in First Grade then adding points accumulated in Reserve Grade, with promotion and relegation between MPL and MAA2 also determined by Division Championship standings (2 up, 2 down).

Willoughby Dalleys FC won the MPL Division Championship in addition to their MPL First Grade league title.

Kissing Point Football Club secured the MAA2 Division Championship and will return to MPL next year along with Lane Cove FC.

Kissing Point also secured the Fair Play Award for MAA2, while Berowra Football Club were the MPL Fair Play Award winners.

Each Fair Play Award is calculated by the number of cautions/send offs per club across First Grade and Reserve Grade matches throughout the season.

View the full Division Championship Standings here:

NSFA Club Championship – Northbridge FC

The NSFA Club Championship is awarded to the club that has achieved the highest points per game ratio across all four sectors of competition football throughout the year (Junior Mixed, Junior Girls, Men’s and Women’s).

Our Partners

Auto One
Besteam Sport
Football NSW
Foundation IT
Northern Tigers
Wahroonga Village Podiatry