NSFA Women’s Select secure shootout win

NSFA Women’s Select secure shootout win

Coming off the NSFA’s first win in 2020, the Women’s Select were able to make it back-to-back victories with a dramatic penalty shootout victory against the Manly Warringah FA Women’s Select at Charles Bean Oval after a scoreless 90 minutes.

Coached by Eilidh Mackay, NSFA’s Head of Female Football, and Graham Nes, Lindfield A’s Premier League winning coach, the NSFA Select held their nerve in the shootout, converting all four of their spot-kicks.

Click here for photos from the match (thanks to Dan Ullman).

Despite a scoreless match there was no shortage of action, with Ella Boudakian (Northbridge) and Imogen Bedwell (Lindfield A) constantly testing the MWFA defence.

Bedwell enjoyed perhaps the best chance to break the deadlock after being played in behind on the right in the 62nd minute, but her shot was blocked and quickly regathered by MWFA goalkeeper Jerri Gerich.

At the other end of the field, former Northern Tigers captain Amanda Skellern (Lindfield A) led the NSFA backline in keeping their opposition off the scoreboard, pairing up with her twin sister Kim (Lindfield A) in central defence to keep a clean sheet in the second half and send the game to penalties.

With NSFA shooting first, Boudakian stepped up and converted her penalty in confident fashion.

NSFA goalkeeper Bronte Finegan (Lindfield A) then put her side in pole position by saving the first MWFA penalty.

Dru Dowis (North Sydney), Jemima Davison (Lindfield A) and Acacia Cowan (Lindfield B) were all then successful with their attempts, along with a pair of converted spot-kicks from the opposition.

Finegan then made her second save of the shootout, but celebrations were cut short as the referee ordered a retake due to early movement off the goal-line.

However, Finegan was once again up to the task, saving the second attempt to secure the victory for NSFA.

NSFA Women’s Select Squad: Acacia Cowan (Lindfield B), Alison Hurd (Turramurra United), Amanda Skellern (Lindfield A), Bronte Finegan (Lindfield A), Dorothy Poon (Northbridge), Dru Dowis (North Sydney), Ella Boudakian (Northbridge), Hannah Turl (Lindfield A), Hayley Burn (North Sydney), Holly Burgmann (Northbridge), Imogen Bedwell (Lindfield A), Jemima Davison (Lindfield A), Kim Skellern (Lindfield A), Lorin Lambert (West Pymble FC), Nicola Mayers (West Pymble), Sarah Gordon (UTS Football Club) and Xanthe Muston (Northbridge).

Coaches: Eilidh Mackay (Northern Tigers) and Graham Nes (Lindfield A).

The NSFA Men’s and Women’s Premier League competitions, proudly supported by Harvey Norman, kick off on the weekend of April 9-11.

Featured image thanks to Dan Ullman – Aptitude Photography.

Our Partners

Auto One
Besteam Sport
Football NSW
Foundation IT
Northern Tigers
Wahroonga Village Podiatry