The NSFA runs a number of knockout tournaments in order to provide additional competition experience to our registered players.

Knockout Fixtures and Results


The NSFA Cup is the premier men’s knockout cup competition in the association, open to any registered men’s competition team that wishes to enter. Formerly known as the KDSA Cup, it was first introduced in 1968, with the inaugural trophy being won by Wahroonga.

2017 West Pymble
2016 West Pymble
2015 Chatswood Rangers
2014 Kissing Point
2013 North Sydney United ‘A’
2012 Lindfield
2011 North Sydney United
2010 Berowra
2009 North Sydney AA
2008 North Sydney AA
2007 West Pymble
2006 Kissing Point
2005 North Sydney AA
2004 North Sydney AA
2003 North Sydney AA
2002 Kissing Point
2001 West Pymble
2000 Hornsby Heights
1999 Chatswood Rangers
1998 North Sydney Bears
1997 Dalleys
1996 Chatswood Rangers
1995 Berowra
1994 Dalleys
1993 Chatswood Rangers
1992 Lindfield
1991 West Pymble
1990 Lindfield
1989 Hornsby RSL
1988 West Pymble
1987 Kissing Point
1986 Kissing Point
1985 Hornsby Heights
1984 West Pymble
1983 Kissing Point
1982 Wahroonga
1981 Mt Colah
1980 Kissing Point
1979 Asquith
1978 Mt Colah
1977 Wahroonga
1976 Hornsby FC
1975 Hornsby FC
1974 Wahroonga
1973 Hornsby FC
1972 Hornsby RSL
1971 Lindfield
1970 West Pymble
1969 Wahroonga
1968 Wahroonga

Rick Close Cup

The Rick Close Cup is a tournament open to all Men’s Over-35 and Over-45 teams in the association and is named after West Pymble FC life member Rick Close, who was the driving force behind the establishment of the tournament.

2017 North Sydney United
2016 North Sydney United
2015 West Pymble
2014 West Pymble
2013 Wahroonga
2012 North Sydney United
2011 West Pymble
2010 West Pymble ‘A’
2009 West Pymble ‘A’
2008 West Pymble
2007 West Pymble
2006 West Pymble
2005 Chatswood Rangers
2004 St Ives
2003 West Pymble
2002 West Pymble
2001 West Pymble
2000 West Pymble
1999 West Pymble

President’s Shield

The President’s Shield is open to all Mixed Under 18 teams in the association. The 2017 final saw Berowra lift the trophy for a third time after a 5-2 win over Lindfield FC.

2017 Berowra
2016 Asquith
2015 Lindfield
2014 Mt Colah B
2013 Lindfield
2012 Lindfield
2011 Berowra
2010 North Sydney Boys High School
2009 Northbridge
2008 Lindfield
2007 Gordon
2006 Chatswood Rangers
2005 Kissing Point
2004 Lane Cove
2003 Asquith
2002 Hornsby Heights
2001 St Ives
2000 Asquith
1999 St Ives
1998 Berowra
1997 North Sydney Boys High School
1996 North Sydney Boys High School
1995 North Sydney Boys High School
1994 Hornsby Heights
1993 Mt Colah
1992 Willoughby City
1991 Mt Colah
1990 Rangers
1989 Kissing Point
1988 Rangers
1987 Kissing Point
1986 Lindfield
1985 Wahroonga
1984 Wahroonga
1983 Rangers
1982 Hornsby RSL Youth
1981 West Pymble
1980 West Pymble
1979 Hornsby Heights
1978 Hornsby RSL Youth

GWFC Girls’ Under 18 Shield

The GWFC Shield is open to teams from the association in the Girls’ Under 16 and Under 18 age groups that did not enter the Football NSW State Cup in the same season.

2017 Kissing Point
2016 Berowra
2015 Mt Colah

Vice-President’s Shield

The Vice-President’s Shield, formerly the Secretary’s Shield until 2011, is open to all Under-16 Mixed teams in the association and has been running for 38 years.

Berowra FC triumphed over North Sydney United in the 2017 final, securing back-to-back titles and lifting the trophy for the seventh time overall.

2017 Berowra
2016 Berowra
2015 Mt Colah
2014 Lindfield
2013 Lindfield
2012 Mt Colah
2011 Northbridge
2010 Berowra
2009 Lindfield
2008 Berowra
2007 Kissing Point
2006 Lindfield
2005 Chatswood Rangers
2004 Chatswood Rangers
2003 Northbridge
2002 Lane Cove
2001 Kissing Point
2000 North Sydney Boys High School
1999 Hornsby Heights
1998 Clarke Road
1997 Berowra
1996 Berowra
1995 Lindfield
1994 Berowra
1993 Hornsby Heights
1992 Mt Colah
1991 North Shore Hellas
1990 Kissing Point
1989 Hornsby Heights
1988 Rangers
1987 Bannockburn Rovers
1986 West Pymble
1985 Hornsby Heights
1984 Wahroonga
1983 Kissing Point
1982 Wahroonga
1981 Homenetmen
1980 Hornsby RSL Youth

Treasurer’s Shield

The Tresurer’s Shield is open to all Under-14 Mixed teams in the association and has been running for 38 years.

Northbridge S won the 2017 tournament, defeating Lindfield A 5-0 in the final.

2017 Northbridge
2016 Northbridge
2015 Lindfield
2014 Lindfield
2013 Northbridge
2012 Lindfield
2011 Hornsby Heights
2010 Northbridge
2009 Northbridge
2008 Lindfield
2007 Lindfield
2006 Hornsby Heights
2005 North Sydney Bears
2004 Clarke Road
2003 Chatswood Rangers
2002 Clarke Road
2001 Northbridge
2000 Hornsby Heights
1999 Clarke Road
1998 Hornsby Heights
1997 Clarke Road
1996 Mt Colah
1995 Lindfield
1994 St Ives
1993 North Sydney Artarmon
1992 Hornsby Heights
1991 Lindfield
1990 North Shore Hellas
1989 Rangers
1988 Mt Colah
1987 St Ives
1986 Kissing Point
1985 Hornsby Heights
1984 Hornsby RSL Youth
1983 North Ryde
1982 Kissing Point
1981 Mt Colah
1980 Hornsby Heights

Champion of Champions

The Champion of Champions tournament is one of the most prestigious tournaments in the footballing calendar, with champions (after having met Association eligibility criteria) from each association pitted against each other in a battle for supremacy.

Visit the Football NSW website for more information.

State Cups

The DEPLOY State Cups knockout tournaments are conducted by Football NSW for Association based male and female club teams and Country Association representative or club teams.

This tournament attracts over 500 entries each season and is an opportunity for club teams from all areas of Football NSW to compete against teams from outside their own Association.

Age Groups 

Boys/Men: 12,13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 21, 0/35, AA Men
Girls/Women: 12, 14, 16, 18, AA Women

In 2017 Northern Suburbs Football Association (NSFA) conducted the first ever NSFA Skellern Cup, a girls football tournament for primary schools across the northern suburbs region of Sydney.

Taking place at the new North Turramurra Recreation Area (NTRA) sports fields over two days, the NSFA Skellern Cup saw over 400 players, teachers and parents from 15 schools take part in what was a wonderful event filled with fun, friendship,  good sportsmanship and, most importantly, football!

The competition trophies, one for junior teams (years 3 and 4) and one for senior teams (years 5 and 6), were awarded on a broad list of criteria that included positive encouragement of each other and opposition and exhibiting school spirit and good sportsmanship.

The Junior Cup was awarded to Artarmon Public School on Wednesday and the Senior Cup was awarded to Neutral Bay Public School on Thursday.

The NSFA Skellern Cup is named after Amanda and Kimberley Skellern, twin sisters who have played for Northern Tigers, the NSFA representative side, for the past nine years and started their football careers with local club West Pymble FC.

Amanda is currently the Women’s First Grade captain and the Northern Tigers women’s teams competed in the NSW Women’s NPL 1, the top division of women’s football in the state, this season.

The event was also supported and attended by Football NSW and Sydney FC.

Full list of schools that attended: Artarmon, Beaumont Road, Castle Cove, Hornsby Heights, Hornsby North, Neutral Bay, Mount Colah, Ravenswood, Roseville, St. Ives North, St. Thomas Willoughby, St. Mary’s, Turramurra, Wahroonga Prep and West Pymble.

For more information about the NSFA Skellern Cup please contact Ed Ferguson –

Our Partners

Auto One
Besteam Sport
Football NSW
Foundation IT
Northern Tigers
Wahroonga Village Podiatry